First blog post

Are you one of those employees who don’t take your vacation days? Every year you accumulate more vacation days, and in most cases you loose vacation time. You are always focused on the next project, report, sales goals, task, budget or fiscal year at the job? I am here to remind you that you should take advantage of your vacation days annually. Take time off from work to enjoy life. That means shutting down the laptop; setting the out of office reply to your email and turning off the company’s cell phone. Go on a cruise. Fly to an all-inclusive resort or simply enjoy a few days at the beach.Vacation time from work is good for your mental and physical health.

Chronic work related stress causes a lot of issues to your body. I can attest to this as I noticed increased medical diagnosis when I worked in a stressful work environment: high cholesterol, weight gain, insomnia, Prediabetes and elevated blood pressure. Taking a vacation gives you the opportunity to rest your body, relax your mind and turn off the stress system. People who take vacation days are more productive. They often report less mistakes at work, increased ability to focus and to make better decisions as their minds are clear. They tend to be happier individuals/employees. It seems that more employers should encourage employees to take their vacation time. However, most will not so you have to take charge of your own health. You really should take one big vacation annually and a few mini trips throughout the year.

Why am I writing about this? This is an issue that’s dear to my heart as I watched my 61 year old aunt work very hard for 40 years. She would work ten hour shifts at one job and weekend shifts at another job only dreaming of taking vacations. Her life was centered around work and caring for her family which was a third job. She once stated, “I guess the family reunions at the cabin, my riverboat cruise or attending a beach wedding counts for something huh.” Well in 2016, she was diagnosed with stage four esophageal cancer which forced her to retire from work. The company that she worked for filled her position less than one month after she completed her retirement forms. As I watched her and listened to her in her final months, I was reminded to just enjoy life. My Aunt would say, “I want you to plan a cruise for me when I get better.” Unfortunately she did not receive her second chance that we so desperately wanted. Exactly eight months after being diagnosed she passed away. She never vacationed for a week at the beach. She never experienced a cruise or destination trip in the Caribbeans.

I hope this blog inspire you to take time for yourself by taking time off from work.Vacation is not a luxury. It is a necessity for maintaining a healthy balanced life.Please remember that you were not born to just work, pay bills, work some more and die. The world is huge and the world is beautiful! You should go see it.

Leave a comment